Hilary Usfun

Hi ho, hi ho, its off to work we go….

Posted on: August 17, 2009

I go to a conference. I have no sense of direction, so I look up the AA, RAC, Google and Viamichelin routefinders.  I get three different routes. I pick the middlingly tricky one which avoids the evil local highway and press print.

6.30am Get up. This is Early, in my world

8am Plan to leave

8.15am Leave. This is called ‘Leaving on time’ in the Land of Usfun.

9.15am Appear to be within 15 minutes of conference venue. This is called ‘Arriving on time’ in the Land of Usfun.

9.30am Conference starts.

9.45am Begin to get unsettled that have not seen turning.

10am Realise have missed turning

10.10am Finally turn round.

10.30am Arrive, park and get in in fluster of irritation.

10.35am Meet slightly senior colleague, apologise profusely, explain about lostness. In attempt at reassurance she tells me that she only arrived 10.15. I feel a bit better, she lives near me.

Of course she LEFT at 9am.

2 Responses to "Hi ho, hi ho, its off to work we go…."

In which case she took the same length of time to get there as you did.

So, no sat nav then? Me neither.

Colleague left 45 mins later and arrived 15 mins earlier, but yes, bar faffing the same.

No sat nav. Am trying to reduce gadgetry, but this may change….

Leave a Reply

