Hilary Usfun

la bella beans…

Posted on: October 10, 2009

So – butternut squash and sage? Tuscan bean thing.   I fried a red onion, together with a heap of garlic and chilli with a little olive oil. When the onion was soft, I added cubed butternut squash, diced carrot, canned tomatoes, cinnamon, paprika, salt and pepper. I ignored it for 20 minutes. I added some pre cooked mixed beans and a large handful of sage, and ignored it for about another 15 minutes.

It sort of worked – next time I’m going to add a pepper, and some red wine if I have any knocking around. However it worked in combination. And I defy anything not to be improved by the addition of polenta topped with melted stilton…

Is it lunchtime yet?

2 Responses to "la bella beans…"

Mmmmm, sounds yummy! A friend of mine makes Prue Leith’s butternut squash risotto which is garnished with deep-fried sage leaves, and that is utterly delicious.

oh yum – I developed this recipe from a soup with butternut and deep fried sage leaves someone made me, so perhaps from the same origin?

Hungry now…

Leave a Reply

