Hilary Usfun

I think I’m alone now…

Posted on: October 29, 2009

So I was going to a wedding, a few years ago, and on the way was engaged in intellectual debate with Dr Usfun about something. Something important, no doubt, and I was trying to remember the conversion factor between inches and centimetres, or something else of similar magnitude and I couldn’t.  Dr Usfun was soothing, generally (I suspect he couldn’t remember either) and once light ranting had taken place we proceeded to the wedding and all was well.

The wedding, it was lovely, and after drinks in the garden we toddled tiddily inside for the disco. Now I’m normally a huge hairy indie kid but I do have a soft spot for a good bout of musical guilty pleasures of the sort found at a wedding. The music started and I was not disappointed – gaily it tumbled through some glorious 80’s cheese until suddenly I heard something familiar…

‘Children hold on..’

(‘Hold on a minute’, my memory said, encouraging my mouth to join in. ‘You know this one’)

‘that’s what they say when we’re together…

‘Mmmmph’, said my mouth, as my memory took voice, and all of me realised I knew every single word to ‘I Think We’re Alone Now’ by Tiffany, a song I’d never really liked, and the conversion factor from inches to centimetres, a fact I actually needed, had gone.

My face was a Blue Screen of Death….

2 Responses to "I think I’m alone now…"

Don’t worry, honey, you just need a reboot.

‘engaged in intellectual debate’ – hahahahaha!!!!!

Er. Sorry.

yeah alright. We may have been having a discussion about dimensions…

Leave a Reply

