Hilary Usfun

fine actions, but really?

Posted on: November 5, 2009

So, Green Metropolis? This is a Good Thing.  It’s a website whereby you list books you don’t want, and other people go onto it, see your books, cry ‘Splendid!’ and you give them the book in return for Actual Cash. How good is that? I keep books that I LOVE, but those I don’t love, or won’t read again are now listed on this site. Is splendid.

However, I didn’t count on the guilt. You’d think it would be a reduction in guilt, what with the RECYCLING, and the REUSING, and the actual cash, but no, its guilt inducing.  I am avoiding going on the site to see if my buyer has received the book – and no, it’s not catholic guilt, I have not stiffed her by saying the book is in better condition than it is or anything.

But it’s a REALLY dreadful book. D’you think she’ll mind?

 

Leave a Reply

