Hilary Usfun

yes it’s laydeez night…

Posted on: December 10, 2009

(I haven’t fallen down a hole, it is all alright. But blimey, where does the time go?)

So I don’t much believe in political correctness; I don’t think we need a concept to tell us how to talk about other people with respect.

(pauses to consider…)

I think its sad that we *may* need a concept to tell us how to talk about other people with respect… and try to ensure I am up to date with the terminology. However; it’s in terms of gender things fall down.  In writing, or to describe myself, the word women or woman is exactly right.

When trying to bring a group of women participants back to the room during a noisy coffee break; it does not.  Now I’m loud. 3 years of opera lessons and 18 years working with groups. I moved into the middle of the room. ‘Time to start again’ I cried, ‘Ready everyone?’

No response.

A participant stands up.

‘Ladies!’ she said. Everyone fell into line.

So this week, I am mostly trying to think of a term which suits us all.  I can’t bear the term ladies; it connates with twee and delicate and incapable in my mind. Of being on a pedestal and venerated in a Bad Way. It seems the same applies to men; Bill Bailey had a similar sketch in which he demonstrated that men don’t respond well to being called ‘men’ but do respond to ‘blokes’ and so far that seems to bear out. But I can’t think of an equivalent to ‘blokes’ for women.  However; ‘Laydeez’ it is not.

4 Responses to "yes it’s laydeez night…"

The female equivalent of ‘blokes’ is, in my London-influenced opinion, ‘birds’. Which doesn’t work well either, in the kind of context you describe. ‘Grrrrlz’ appeals to me when written down, but is hard to pronounce. In such situations I rely on the gender-neutral bicycle horn, with a rubber bulb, that goes ‘PARP’ very loudly (available for about a fiver from any good bike repair shop). I enjoy using this in a slightly sadistic way because it sometimes makes people jump, which IMO serves them right for not paying attention to me in the first place. Dictatorial? Wot, me??

ROFL at the gender neutral bicycle horn. I have some finger bells, but they aren’t as loud as me. A gender neutral bicycle horn is inspired….

I dislike ‘Ladies’ but I don’t know why. I used to go out with a girl who said she was a woman but definitely not a lady – but I honestly think she only said that to shock. Or make a mark.

I’m not sure what the genderal (made up word) antithesis of ‘blokes’ is though. Birds? That doesn’t feel right either.

I dislike ‘Ladies’ but I don’t know why. I used to go out with a girl who said she was a woman but definitely not a lady – but I honestly think she was a bloke. Or a bit like that South African athlete… Poor lass… lass-man.

‘Bloke’ doesn’t work for me, and ‘man’ makes me wince. Oh, Jesus.

Yes, that’ll do. I’ll settle for Jesus.

(hope this comment doesn’t generate lots of religious spam… for either of us)

Leave a Reply

